Reviews from Real Brides

 

 

Jan  2014by anonymous

 

Barb does an awesome job with bridal alterations! She remodeled my mothers wedding gown the way I wanted it and it was amazing. I loved it.

 

 

Jan 14, 2014by anonymous

 

I was first referred to Barb by a gentleman from the American Commodore Tuxedo store in Robinson, where my brother and his groomsmen got their suits for his wedding. I gave her a call and Barb was able to alter my bridesmaid dress for my brother's wedding.

 

 

Dec 6, 2013by mjmkjm

 

We had a great experience with Barb. We went to her to hem a wedding dress and walked away with not only the hemmed dress, but one that was cleaned and pressed. She made so many extra touches that made the dress that much prettier. She also has a nice little area to try on the dress, complete with platform and mirror. We would recommend her to anyone looking to have their wedding dresses altered. We will definitely go back to her for our other daughters' needs

 

 

Oct 8, 2013by anonymous

 

Barb altered my wedding gown and did an excellent job! She is flexible with scheduling and a skilled seamstress. I will return to her with any future bridesmaid dresses!

 

 

May 19, 2013by anonymous

 

Barb altered a bridesmaid's dress for me, and I couldn't be happier with her work!! The dress fits perfectly! Barb was a pleasure to work with - flexible hours, reasonable prices, and very personable. I would highly recommend her services to anyone in need of a great seamstress!!

 

 

Sep 13, 2012by anonymous

 

When it came time to alter my wedding dress the answer on who to go to was simple, the woman my sister and close friends had used. After two months of trying to make our schedules matched she called me to say she wouldn't be able to alter my dress my dress due to health issues. Time had become critical and I turned to google with worry. To my surprise, I found Barb, and what an awesome find she is! Professional, personable and timely! The result: a perfect fitting dress, a very happy bride, and a recommendation I will share with anyone that needs alterations

 

 

Aug 15, 2012by knicks350

 

Barb is AMAZING!!! She is extremely talented at what she does! Barb listened to exactly what I wanted and altered my dress to make me look beautiful for my wedding day. I wanted a lace veil that matched my dress but they are so expensive to buy from a bridal shop. Barb and I went shopping together and picked out lace that matched my dress perfectly. She made me a veil that was GORGEOUS and looked stunning with my dress!! Barb helped make my wedding day just the way I always envisioned it. I highly reccommend her!

 

 

Jun 18, 2012by smithlawyer

 

Beautful work, and the proprietor is a pleasure to work with. She did two gowns for my upcoming wedding. She is very professional and prompt.

 

 

Feb 4, 2012by maria_apardo

 

With only a month to get my dress altered due to a 2 month engagement I thought I had no hope. But when I called Barb she said she could help me. And she did! She helped me make my dress appropriate for our Religious ceremony and it was perfect! Not to mention it was great priced and I couldn't of asked for a better person to work with. Thank You soo much! -Maria Renfeldt

 

 

Jan 19, 2012by Guest90751

 

Barb turned my wedding dress from beautiful to absolutely stunning. She made excellent suggestions in altering the dress including sewing a petticoat underneath to give me some hips, which is a good thing, since I have a straight figure and the 

 dress originally hung very straight as well. Excellent job done.

 

 

Jan 14, 2012by Guest17450

 

Barb did a great job! I got my dress from a store that went out of business, so did not end up with the one I paid for and ordered but had to chose from what was left. I chose a dress that was the same designer but 4 dress sizes too big. Barb worked miracles and the dress looked like it was made for me by the time she was done. She is very personable and the fittings were fun to go to. Her services are also very affordable for the quality of work done. If you are looking for someone to alter your wedding dress, look no further!

 

 

Oct 21, 2011byms.mary.sheridan

 

There is a reason that Barb consistently gets five star reviews - it's because she is amazing! I purchased my dress in Ohio (with family), live in Boston, and got married in Pittsburgh. Sounds complicated right? Barb made it all easy. She was so  flexible in scheduling my fittings. She made suggestions on specific alterations and additions to give my dress the perfect fit. Barb is patient, helpful, and very professional. Her prices are very reasonable and didn't charge extra for additional last minute alterations and tweaks. She even sewed the date of my wedding into my dress! How cool is that?!?! My mom (who sews as a hobby) came to my final fitting and was so impressed with the quality of Barb's work. Barb is one very talented and professional seamstress - don't believe anyone who says otherwise

 

 

Oct 14, 2011by ashley.stebor

 

Barb is awesome...I have only amazing things to say about my experience with her. This woman knows what she is doing, and does it exceptionally well! I found her randomly through a site like this and decided to pay her a visit to get my dress I bought at a sample sale and wanted to customize it. She exceeded my expectations, and gave me the dress of my dreams. You will recieve nothing but the best if you take your dress to Barb. Thanks for making my special day so perfect!

 

 

Oct 12, 2011by debralynne915

 

Our wedding was in August 2011. I found BridalAlterations on line and decided to give them a call to they  would be able to help me with major alterations to my gown which had been given to me. She looked at the dress and said she would be able to provide the necessary alterations. She was very thorough in her approach and her work was very articulate. She made some additional alterations to the sleeves which really enhanced the beauty of the gown. I was very pleased with Barb's work and would recommend her to anyone. Her work is very high quality as well as reasonable. I am so glad that I chose to have Barb do the work. I am assured that no other dress shop would've been able to match her quality of work.

 

 

Oct 10, 2011by Guest78795

 

Barb did an amazing job with the alterations for my bridesmaid dress! She was incredibly easy to work with, timely and helped me to have a dress that fit my body wonderfully! I highly recommend alterations at Bridal Alterations Pittsburgh and plan to have my next dress altered there.

 

 

Oct 9, 2011by yonitte

 

Absolutely wonderful. Barb took a dirty and torn to shreds but beautiful Vera Wang sample sale dress and made it look amazing. She was able to hem the train that I didn't want, take the back in perfectly and make the top fit me like a glove  and the whole dress came back to me looking brand new. Thanks so much!

 

 

Oct 4, 2011by pamelajanovak

 

Barb, the seamstress, is so wonderful! I was a maid of honor in a wedding and my friend chose Barb to alter her gown, and Barb altered my bridesmaid dress as well. Her prices are more than reasonable, and going in for a fitting is like being invited into a friend's home. I wish I had known her when I got married!!

 

 

Oct 4, 2011by Guest56515

 

Barb did a great job on my wedding dress. She was extremely accommodating to my schedule and made herself available whenever worked for me which was greatly appreciated. Thank you again for all your beautiful work!

 

 

Oct 3, 2011by Guest93472

 

Barb did a great job on my wedding dress! It was a very detailed dress that was about 6 sizes too big. The finished product was perfect. She was able to do everything from getting me a slip underneath to fixing my veils so they fit/fell the way i wanted. She was fast and professional. I highly recommend her! Thank you so much for making one of the most important parts of my special day great! - Stacy

 

 

Oct 2, 2011by britta_kocak

 

I had both a bridesmaid dress and my wedding dress altered at Bridal Alterations Pittsbugh and couldn't have been happier... Barb was so easy to work with, flexible with my busy work schedule and did a great job on both dresses. Will definitely bring future formal  wear to Bridal Alterations.

 

 

Oct 2, 2011by quinnjill

 

Barb did the alterations on my wedding dress and I was so pleased. The dress had banding from top to bottom, and she had to take off each band in order to take in the bodice. Between my second and third fittings I lost more weight than I expected , but she made sure that my dress fit like a glove. Everyone raved about how great I looked. My wedding photographer said I was one of the only girls she has seen who wore a strapless dress and never had to tug it up on my wedding day. I highly recommend Barb!

 

 

Oct 2, 2011by Guest97495

 

Did a really nice job taking in a bridesmaids dress for me! Super friendly & had my dress done & ready exactly as planned! Thanks Barb!

 

 

Aug 12, 2011by angel4952

 

Barb does wonderful work. She has done a bridesmaid dress for me and my wedding dress. She takes her time with you and her work is fabulous!!! :)

 

 

Aug 3, 2011by joymjenny

 

Very pleased with my bridesmaid's dress alteration! Thanks Barb!

 

 

Jul 8, 2011by ngemmell88

 

Barb does a great job every time! She has altered my wedding dress (even suggested doing something I hadn't thought of which worked out perfectly), as well as two bridesmaids dresses and several pairs of pants. I have recommended her to personal friends who have also been happy with her work! .

 

 

Jul 5, 2011by acgougler

 

Barb did a great job at altering my bridesmaid dress! I'm new to Pittsburgh and found her on Super Pages and I am so happy I did! My dress fits me perfectly and the price was right. To make things even better, Barb s such a sweet lady and loves what she does. I will defintely be returning to Barb for my next alterations!

 

 

Jul 19, 2010by Guest88446

 

Barb worked a miracle for me. I brought her a bridal dress that had been sewed by my sister in Wisconsin and shipped to me in Pittsburgh. It required final alterations, and because I have zero sewing knowledge, I was very nervous about it. Barb took the time to call my sister and personally discuss what was required so that it would be perfect, and the long and short of it is that Barb made a very complex sewing task look easy. When my sister and I picked up the dress together 3 days before my wedding, the dress was perfect. Perfectly altered, and perfectly pressed. I was a beautiful bride thanks to Barb. And a note to other brides: Barb does custom jewelry as well. If you are looking for something to match your gown, or gifts for your attendants, ask her about it. THANK YOU, BARB!

 

 

Jul 4, 2010by Guest15167

 

I can't be more pleased with my selection of Barb at Bridal Alterations. She was patient, and offered helpful suggestions to make my wedding dress perfect. I showed her pictures of the styles I liked and we literally took the top of one style, and bottom of another and put them together. The result were my perfect dress. She really help take the stress out of the process. I later had her do alterations on my husbands dress pants that were too big. He too was very please with her work.

 

 

Jun 29, 2010by Crane

 

Barb is excellant at what she does! She made my wedding dress for me for my Halloween wedding. I brought her a picture of a dress that I fell in love with- it was way out of my price range

Barb made me a one of a kind dress that looked 100% better than the dress picture I brought to her. Having your dress made is so special- its one of a kind and no one else will have it. She does beautiful work! I highly suggest calling her! Thanks Barb!

 

 

Jun 29, 2010by Guest2819

 

1I heard of Bridal Alterations Pittsburgh (Barb) when I went to David's bridal and needed a bridesmaids dress hemmed quickly for a good price. She did such a fabulous job, that I asked her to make my bridal gown the following year! She did it without a pattern (but we made a sketch) out of dupioni silk (fabulous and expensive in the stores), and it was gorgeous (and even had pockets!)! Everyone who saw it LOVED it, including me! She was open to my ideas and made suggestion that made sense. The dress even had a beaded strand (that she did by hand) and the alterations were done in a professional and timely manner. I would recommend her to anyone who needs any alternations or even a dress made. I am 29 and she understood EXACTLY what I wanted. She know the line between youthful and trashy VERY well and will never let you cross it (unless you want to). She was polite and responsive to questions and suggestions. FYI: She also has great contacts for other wedding needs!!

Reply: 

Thank you Sweetie! I LOVED making you the dress of your dreams.

 

 

Jul 27, 2009by Guest87719

 

Highly recommend! She was quick - I had less than a month before the wedding I was in and she got my bridesmaid's dress done. It turned out perfect with only one quick visit for fitting. She's very friendly, flexible (I was stuck in traffic on my way over and about 20 minutes late), and very affordable!

Reply:

Thank you for the kind review. I appreciate it very much

 

 

Apr 16, 2008by clukasz

 

affordable, great turnaround time, attentive to detail.... worth every penny.

 

 

july 31, 2010 Julie s

 

Barb does a great job no matter if it is hemming an item or repairing the lace on a favorite dress. Her work is very neat and flawless and i would feel comfortable recommending her to anyone.